Contact   |   Location   |   Links
You are here:   Home
  |  Login

Anniversary Weekend, June 16 & 17

Anniversary Weekend, June 16 & 17

Thirty-three boats took part in three Anniversary Races over the weekend, cheered on by spectators on the shore waving specially designed flags featuring the club’s Diamond Jubilee Pegasus logo. Also flying the flag were members of the cruiser fleet who put on a ‘dressed overall’ parade in front of the clubhouse.
The club was founded in 1958 and for the first year was based on a strip of land rented from the Howtown Hotel. In commemoration, the course for Saturday’s race, the Howtown Hotel Race, was from the club, round a buoy at Howtown, to the North end of the lake, and back to the club.
A group of supporters with their anniversary flags gathered on the shore at Howtown, in wet and windy conditions, to mark each rounding by sounding a horn. In a brisk South-westerly wind the sailors enjoyed the challenging conditions with the faster boats doing two laps of the course and the rest one lap. Winner on handicap was Jono Shelley in a Musto Skiff with Lester Noble and Mark Simpson in a 49er second and Josh Moran in a Musto Skiff third.
The weather improved and the sun came out for the next event, a celebration cruiser parade in front of the clubhouse with the boats decorated in flags, masterminded by club member Harry Patrick.
Then it was time for the anniversary buffet for more than 120 members held in a marquee on the club’s lakeside lawn. Club President Robin Barratt hosted a table of specially invited guests. They included founder members Peter and Shirley Dowson; Brenda Couzens whose late husband Harold, member number one, was instrumental in the formation of the club; Barbara Burgoyne, whose late husband Derek was Club President from 1998 to 2009 and longstanding member Jack Hartnell who joined the club soon after it was formed. Another invited guest, Dr Ian Miller, member number two, who has been unwell, visited the club on the afternoon.
Robin welcomed everyone to the buffet and said: “UYC has grown and developed from a group of sailing enthusiasts to one of the premier clubs in the country – winner of two national Club of the Year Award in 2017.
“But what has not changed is the common bond we all have as members of Ullswater Yacht Club – that we all love to sail on our beautiful lake. In the early days the growth and success of the club depended on the hard work and commitment of volunteer members, and that is still the same today.
This club is such a great club because of all of you.”
Robin, along with Laia and Aggie Priestley, aged six and four, who are the fourth generation of the Priestley family to be club members, cut the celebration cake. The cake, decorated with the anniversary Diamond Jubilee logo, was made by the club’s star baker Lilian Adams. Everyone who attended the buffet received a celebration yellow rose or a waving flag as a memento of the evening.
Sunday brought more brisk South-westerly winds for the second race of the weekend, the Another Place, the Lake Race. The busy start line was set in front of the hotel, which is on the West shore opposite the club and the course was around buoys at the North end of the lake. Winner on handicap was Musto Skiff sailor Jono Shelley with Matty and James Lyon second in a 49er.
The final race of the day, the Old Buoys Race, was held using only original marks, on a course of Brunskill, Sharrow, Harbour, Waterside, which would be familiar to long-standing club members. The winners were Matty and James Lyons.
The club welcomed Paula Dupuy from Another Place, the Lake to present the prizes along with Club President Robin Barratt who thanked Another Place and the Howtown Hotel for sponsoring the weekend.
The overall event trophy winner was Jono Shelley, Musto Skiff; 2nd Matty and James Lyons, 49er; 3rd Mike Egan and Keith McDermott, Etap. Race trophy winners were Lester Noble and Mark Simpson, 49er; Matty and James Lyons; Dave Chandler VX One; cruisers, Mike Egan and Keith McDermott. Jono Shelley won a voucher for Another Place, the Lake and event organiser Sue Giles was awarded a voucher for the Howtown Hotel.
Many thanks to: Graham Donkin, Brian Moreton and David Lyons in the race box and the safety teams on the water; Pauline Moran, hospitality organiser and her team, Carol Moreton, Anne Noble and Pauline Thompson for marquee decoration, Harry Patrick for the cruiser parade, Jo Luke Giles for designing the 'Diamond Peggy' logo and everyone else who helped to make it an event to remember. - Sue Giles 18.6.18
Below: Aggie and Laia Priestley and Marcia Shelley fly their flags at the cruiser parade. The prizewinners with Paula Dupuy of Another Place, the Lake and Club President Robin Barratt

Posted on 18 June 2018 (Archive on 16 July 2018)
Posted by 51  Contributed by 51


Current Rating: