Contact   |   Location   |   Links
You are here:   Home
  |  Login

Singlehander Weekend and Club Racing, May 26 - 28

Singlehander Weekend and Club Racing, May 26 - 28

The event was part of the Laser Lakeland and Border Grand Prix Series and the RS Aero Northern Circuit and 13 Lasers and 12 Aeros competed in seven races over the weekend in challenging conditions with blue skies and warm sun but blustery and unpredictable Easterly winds.

Race officer David Clarke set the course at the Northern end of the lake but could not avoid the vicious shifting gusts and racing was very close in both fleets. At the end of Saturday, after four exciting races, just two points separated the first four boats in the Lasers with first places being taken by four different helms. Just in front was UYC’s Jon Abbatt in a Radial, closely followed by Greg Liggens of Derwent Reservoir SC, Patrick Hamilton of Burwain SC and Anthony Dawson of UYC, all racing full rigs.

It was also close in the Aero fleet with the overnight leader Steve Stewart from Yorkshire Dales SC in an Aero 5,  taking two first and two seconds. The other two races were won by Matt Thursfield, RYA, in an Aero 7.

Sunday brought the same blue sky weather but with the same difficult Easterly winds. The course was set in the same part of the lake and three more races were scheduled. In the Lasers Jon Abbatt dominated, winning two more races and coming second in the other to take the event overall. Greg Liggens won the final race to grab second place, just pipping Patrick Hamilton who had the same points, on countback.

In the Aeros, Sunday was Matt Thursfield’s day, he won all three races to take the overall event with a clean sweep of five firsts to count from seven races. Steve Stewart was second in all three races to come second overall and third place went to Ian McGonigal of East Lothian SC in an Aero 7.

For the Aeros, it had become an ‘international’ event welcoming a competitor from France – Arnaud Bouchez from the Club Nautique de Wimereux near Boulogne. Arnaud, and another long distance visitor, Noah Rees (pictured) from Torpoint Mosquito SC in Cornwall, who was fourth, were presented with traveller trophies at the prizegiving.

Event winners:
Lasers 1. Jon Abbatt, Radial, UYC, 7
2. Greg Liggens, Derwent Reservoir SC, 12
3. Patrick Hamilton, Burwain SC, 12
Aeros 1. Matt Thursfield, Aero 7, RYA, 5
2. Steve Stewart, Aero 5, Yorkshire Dales SC, 8
3. Ian McGonigal, Aero 7, East Lothian SC, 17.5

Click here to see the full results:
Single Hander Weekend Results

There was also a busy Bank Holiday weekend of racing for club members. They took part in a four-race two-day all class handicap event on Saturday and Sunday which had 12 entries. Racing was just as exciting for the handicap fleet in the blustery conditions. The overall winner was Charlie Chandler in a Blaze; Dave and Sue Giles were second in a Flying Fifteen and Chris Taylor and David Lyons, also in a Flying Fifteen were third.

Then on Monday, club racers competed for the annual Anniversary Trophy. There was a great turnout in the handicap fleet of 15 boats and 7 cruisers, all taking part in two long races. Overall winners were: Handicap 1. Dave and Sue Giles, Flying Fifteen; 2. James and Nick Stewardson, Tempest; 3. John Robinson and Lynsey Whitehead, Tempest. Cruiser 1. Robin Barratt, Keith McDermott and Mike Egan, Etap; 2. Robin Stanley and Marion Marshall, Beneteau; 3. David Thomson and Andrew Bailey, Hunter.
(Sue Giles 29.5.18)

Posted on 29 May 2018 (Archive on 26 June 2018)
Posted by 51  Contributed by 51


Current Rating: