Contact   |   Location   |   Links
You are here:   Home
  |  Login

Flying Fifteen Northerns June 24 & 25

Flying Fifteen Northerns June 24 & 25

A total of 22 boats with visitors from all over the country, took part in the event, sailing five races in strong, challenging winds over the two days.

Race officer Ian Priestley and his team took the race course around the corner from the UYC clubhouse for three races on Saturday, setting the windward leg the full length of the picturesque stretch of the lake – in full view of the club’s next door neighbour the Sharrow Bay Hotel, giving guests lots to watch.

The blustery and shifting WSW conditions resulted in plenty of excitement on the windward/leeward course. The Draycote team read the shifts and gusts well enough to hold off their opposition, winning all three races. Behind them, the second and third positions in the three races were far less clear cut, spread over five different boats. Second places were taken by Steve Goacher & Tim Harper of Royal Windermere YC, Justin Waples & Nick Bacon of RCYC and David McKee & Mal Hartland of Dovestone SC. Nigel & Gavin Tullet of Royal Windermere YC were in second place overnight with 9 points and McKee/Hartland third on 10 points.

So could the overnight leaders Davy/Huett, do it all again on Sunday? This time, with the wind shifting more to the west, but easing slightly in strength, the race course was set at the Northern end of the lake. And yes, they could, after race four, they had clinched the Northern championships and they went on to win race five -  but they didn’t do it without a fight with boats from the following pack, especially on the unpredictable downwind legs. But it could not have been closer for second and third places with David McKee & Mal Hartland and Nigel and Gavin Tullet, both on 12 points. McKee/Hartland were second on count-back. Winners of the Silver fleet were Scott Train & Ann Stewart of Solway Yacht Club and Classic winners were Graham & Alistair Lamond of Ripon Sailing Club.

Thanks go to all the volunteers who helped make the event such a success and raised our profile in such a positive way among members of the Flying Fifteen fleet from all over the country, including:
Committee boat:
OOD Ian Priestley, Pat Priestley, Graham Priestley, Benedict Barnes, Bernie McDermott,
Entries and results:
Cath O’Connell, Christian Barnes, Sean & Pam Brookes.
Mark laying and rescue:
John & Sheila Robinson, Roger O’Connell, Keith Mc Dermott.
Shore team and site
Brian Moreton, Wayne Gorrie, Edmund Clarke and Christian Barnes
Protest Committee
Mike Adams, Jon Abbot, Edmund Clarke, Keith Jamieson.
Biffa Rep: Keith Jamieson.
Hospitality: Dave & Sue Dickinson and Kathryn Potter

1. Jeremy Davy and Martin Huett, Draycote Water SC, 4 points
2. David McKee & Mal Hartland, Dovestone SC, 12
3. Nigel & Gavin Tullet, Royal Windermere YC, 12
Silver Fleet 1. Scott Train & Ann Stewart, Solway Yacht Club
Classic Fleet 1. Graham & Alistair Lamond, Ripon Sailing Club
2. Brian Rowbotham & Steve Carter, UYC

F15 Northerns results

Posted on 26 June 2017 (Archive on 24 July 2017)
Posted by 51  Contributed by 51


Current Rating: 5.00

Rating: 5.00